Pakistan Announces 15-Member Squad for ICC World Cup 2023

Hamariweb  |  Sep 22, 2023

Pakistan Announces 15-Member Squad for ICC World Cup 2023

In a highly anticipated announcement, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has officially unveiled the 15-member squad that will represent Pakistan in the upcoming ICC World Cup 2023. The announcement was delayed due to consultations within the team management following a disappointing exit from the Asia Cup and several injuries sustained by key bowlers during the tournament.

Chief selector Inzamam-ul-Haq revealed the squad during a press conference at Lahore’s Gaddafi Stadium, generating excitement and anticipation among cricket fans.


Babar Azam has been appointed as the captain of the team, with Shadab Khan serving as the vice-captain. Babar Azam, known for his exceptional batting prowess, will carry the weight of leading the team to victory in this prestigious tournament.

Injury Woes

The team faced unexpected challenges as pacer Naseem Shah was ruled out of the tournament due to a shoulder injury. To fill this void, Hasan Ali, who had been away from one-day international (ODI) cricket for a year since his last appearance against West Indies in Multan in 2022, has been called in as a replacement. The decision to bring back Hasan Ali is a significant move, and fans are eager to see him in action.

Optimism and Determination

Inzamam-ul-Haq expressed confidence in the selected squad and highlighted that all the players are now fully fit and determined to perform for their country in this crucial tournament. He also provided positive updates on Haris Rauf, stating that Rauf has started bowling at the National Cricket Academy and will be available for selection. The chief selector urged the nation to rally behind the team and offer unwavering support.

The Squad

The 15-member squad comprises a mix of seasoned players and promising talents:

  • Babar Azam (Captain)
  • Shadab Khan (Vice-Captain)
  • Abdullah Shafiq
  • Fakhar Zaman
  • Haris Rauf
  • Hasan Ali
  • Iftikhar Ahmed
  • Imam-ul-Haq
  • Mohammad Nawaz
  • Mohammad Rizwan (Wicketkeeper)
  • M Wasim Jnr
  • Saud Shakeel
  • Salman Ali Agha
  • Shaheen Shah Afridi
  • Usama Mir


In addition to the main squad, there are three reserves who can step in if needed:

  • Mohammad Haris
  • Zaman Khan
  • Abrar Ahmed

As the countdown to the ICC World Cup 2023 begins, Pakistan cricket fans eagerly await the team’s performance and hope to see them bring home the coveted trophy, uniting the nation in pride and celebration. It’s a time for unwavering support and belief in the potential of this talented squad.

Visit to news source webpage
More News
More News