ICC Cricket World Cup 2023: Equal Prize Money for Men’s and Women’s Tournaments

Hamariweb  |  Sep 23, 2023

ICC Cricket World Cup 2023: Equal Prize Money for Men’s and Women’s Tournaments

In an exciting update, the ICC has revealed a massive $10 million prize pool for the upcoming 2023 ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup in India. The tournament guarantees an electrifying competition among the world’s leading cricket nations, with substantial rewards awaiting exceptional performers.

The event’s pinnacle is crowning the 2023 Men’s Cricket World Cup champions, who will receive a substantial share of the $10 million prize pool. In an official statement on September 22nd, the ICC confirmed that the tournament winners will earn a noteworthy $4 million as their well-deserved reward.

Runners-Up Share in the Glory

The excitement continues! The 2023 Men’s Cricket World Cup runners-up will also receive a significant cash prize. The final match, scheduled for November 19th at Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad, will award the second-placed team with $2 million.

The tournament structure promises an intense competition as all 10 participating teams will face off against each other once in a round-robin format during the Group Stage. Notably, each victory in this stage will be rewarded with a remarkable $40,000. Furthermore, teams that do not progress to the knockout rounds will still receive $100,000 at the end of this stage.

Gender Equality in Prize Money

The ICC has declared equal prize money for the 2025 ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup. This is marking a crucial step toward gender equality in cricket. This historic decision was made at the July 2023 Annual Conference in Durban, South Africa.

Here’s a comprehensive breakdown of the prize money allocations for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023:

  • Winner: $4,000,000
  • Runner-up: $2,000,000
  • Losing Semi-Finalists (2): $800,000 each
  • Teams Eliminated After Group Stage (6): $100,000 each
  • Winner of Each Group Stage Match (45 matches): $40,000 each
  • Total Prize Pool: $10,000,000

The 13th ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup features 10 teams competing for the coveted trophy. India, New Zealand, England, Bangladesh, Pakistan, Australia, Afghanistan, and South Africa made it through the Super League, while Sri Lanka and the Netherlands qualified through the Qualifier.

The top cricket event will have 48 exciting matches at 10 venues. It starts on October 5th with a rematch between England and New Zealand, setting the stage for a thrilling tournament.

Before the World Cup begins, each team will play two warm-up matches to refine their skills and strategies, offering a preview of the 46-day extravaganza.

Visit to news source webpage
More News
More News