Captains named for Pakistan tour in Pollard’s absence

The Nation  |  Dec 07, 2021

Barbados   -  Failing to recover from the hamstring injury that he suffered at the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, Kieron Pollard will not be a part of West Indies tour of Pakistan in December. 

In Pollard’s absence, Nicholas Pooran has been named the T20I captain for the three-match series while Shai Hope will lead West Indies in the three ODIs. Hope will serve as Pooran’s deputy in the shortest format and the roles will be reversed in the 50-over format. Pooran had previously stepped in the captain’s shoes when Australia toured West Indies in July earlier this year and emerged victorious 4-1, with Pollard missing out due to a hamstring injury. For Hope, this will be the first time he will captain the Windies in any format of the game. 

In their statement, Cricket West Indies said that Pollard will undergo rehabilitation under the supervision of Chief Medical Officer, Dr. Israel Dowlat, in Trinidad and his condition will be reassessed ahead of tours of England and Ireland in January. West Indies will also be without several regulars such as Jason Holder, Andre Russell, Evin Lewis and Shimron Hetmyer. In the absence of several experienced campaigner, Windies will be hoping the young brigade can step up against Pakistan. 

At least 12 inmates escape from judicial lockup in Lahore All the six games will be played will be played in Karachi between 13-22 December. The ODI series will be contested under the ICC Cricket World Cup Super League where Pakistan and West Indies currently occupy the 7th and 8th spot respectively.  

ODI SQUAD: Shai Hope (c), Nicholas Pooran (vc), Darren Bravo, Shamarh Brooks, Roston Chase, Justin Greaves, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Gudakesh Motie, Anderson Phillip, Raymon Reifer, Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith, Hayden Walsh Jr, Devon Thomas.  

T20I SQUAD: Nicholas Pooran (c), Shai Hope (vc), Darren Bravo, Roston Chase, Sheldon Cottrell, Dominic Drakes, Akeal Hosein, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Gudakesh Motie, Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith, Oshane Thomas, Hayden Walsh Jr, Rovman Powell.


Dec 13  First T20I 

Gold prices decline by Rs600, trades at Rs123,650 per tola

Dec 14  Second T20I 

Dec 16  Third T20I 

Dec 18  First ODI 

Dec 20  Second ODI 

Dec 22  Third ODI 

More News