PM Imran thanks Kashmiris as PTI wins AJK polls with thumping majority

The Nation  |  Jul 27, 2021

ISLAMABAD - Prime Minister Imran Khan on Monday thanked the people of Azad Jammu and Kashmir (AJK) for placing their trust in the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) through their votes, which resulted in its electoral victory.

PM Imran Khan, in a tweet, said the government would focus on bringing the people out of poverty through the Ehsaas and Kamyab Pakistan programmes besides establishing accountability and transparency in governance. The prime minister further said as an ambassador for Kashmir, he would continue to raise his voice on all international forums, including the United Nations to ensure the world community fulfilled its commitment of self-determination to the Kashmiri people through a UN-sponsored plebiscite. Imran Khan also congratulated all the successful candidates of PTI. 

In a follow up tweet, Prime Minister Imran Khan on Monday expressing his grief over the killing of two supporter of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) during the AJK elections and instructed the Inspectors General of Police to immediately apprehend the killers.

46 Afghan soldiers return to Afghan govt: ISPR “Saddened to learn of the killing of our two supporters Zaheer Ahmed & Ramzan, both cousins, during the AJK elections yesterday,” Imran Khan said in a twitter post.

Conveying his condolences and prayers to the families, the Prime Minister in his tweet said that he had instructed the IG (Inspector General of Police) Azad Jammu and Kashmir (AJK) to immediately apprehend the killers and commiserate with the families.


PTI wins AJK Legislative Assembly election


As per unofficial results, PTI has won 25 out of 45 general seats while elections on eight reserved seats are yet be held. Out of the eight reserved seats, five are for women and three seats, one each for religious scholars, technocrats, and overseas Kashmiris. The members for these seats are nominated after the elections.

18 injured as passenger bus overturns in Sheikhupura  

The Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf has emerged as the largest political party in the Azad Jammu and Kashmir Legislative Assembly. According to the unofficial results announced by the AJK Election Commission, the PTI has won 25 seats.

Pakistan Peoples’ Party has won eleven seats and Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz secured six seats.

Muslim Conference and Jammu and Kashmir Peoples Party have secured one seat each.

Barrister Sultan Mahmood Chaudhry, Khawaja Ahmed Farooq, Sardar Tanvir Ilyas, Diwan Khan Chughtai, Chaudhry Arshad and Ch. Anwar-ul-Haq have won their seats.

PML-N candidates Raja Farooq Haider and Shah Ghulam Qadir have also retained their seats.

Ex-Prime Minister of AJK and chief of Muslim Conference Sardar Attique Ahmed Khan has been declared successful on LA-14 Bagh. A total of 587 candidates contested the elections in 33 constituencies of Azad Kashmir districts and 121 candidates on 12 constituencies of Jammu and Kashmir refugees settled in Pakistan. 

Delegations of Pakistan, Saudi Arabia discuss bilateral ties  

AJK Secretary Election Commission Muhammad Ghazanfar Khan said the General Elections were held in a free, fair and transparent manner.

He expressed satisfaction over the law and order and appreciated the performance of the police and the Pakistan army for ensuring the peaceful conduct of the elections.

According to the AJK Election Commission voter turn-out in the general elections remained fifty-eight percent as compared to the turnout of the 2016 election, which was 65 percent.

The number of total registered voters was 3.2 million, out of which 1.7 million were male and 1.4 million were female voters.

The total number of votes polled was 1, 931,724, whereas 17,418 votes were rejected.

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf bagged 32.05 percent of the votes while PML-N and PPP secured 25.65 and 18.28 percent votes respectively.

Shafqat Mahmood discusses collaboration with UK educational organizations
More News