‘PM challenged Opposition by seeking vote of confidence,’ says Dr. Firdous

Bol News  |  Mar 04, 2021

Special Assistant to CM Punjab for Information, Dr. Firdous Ashiq Awan on Thursday said that Prime Minister Imran Khan took an undaunted decision to seek vote of confidence from the National Assembly.

According to the details, Dr. Firdous Ashiq Awan took to Twitter and said that despite of the fact that ruling Pakistan Tehreek e Insaf (PTI) emerged as the largest party in the Senate, Prime Minister Imran Khan has challenged the opposition by taking a bold decision of seeking vote of confidence in the Parliament House.

تحریک انصاف سینیٹ کی بڑی جماعت بن کر سامنے آئی مگر اسکے باوجود وزیراعظم عمران خان نے ایوان سے اعتماد کا ووٹ لینےکا دلیرانہ فیصلہ کرکے اپوزیشن کو بڑا چیلنج دیا ہے۔ اپوزیشن کو اپنی اکثریت ثابت کرنا ہوگی وگرنہ پیسے کی چمک سے ضمیروں کی سوداگری اور ووٹوں کی خریداری کا حساب دینا ہوگا

— Dr. Firdous Ashiq Awan (@Dr_FirdousPTI) March 4, 2021

Dr. Firdous Ashiq Awan went on to say that the opposition will have to prove its majority, otherwise it would be held accountable for buying votes during the Senate elections.

It should be noted that regardless of the fact that PTI suffered a major blow for losing Islamabad general seat to Pakistan Democratic Movement (PDM) candidate Syed Yousaf Raza Gilani, the ruling party however emerged largest political party with 26 seats in the Upper House of the Parliament.

PTI managed to grab 18 seats, while Pakistan Peoples’ Party (PPP) and Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) secured eight and five seats respectively in the Upper House of the Parliament out of 48 seats.

On the other hand, the coalition partners of the ruling PTI, Balochistan Awami Party (BAP) and Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-Pakistan) managed to win six and two seats each, while Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam-Fazl (JUI-F) grabbed three seats, Awami National Party (ANP) two each and Balochistan National Party (BNP) secured one seat. Two seats were won by independent candidates.

Voting was held smoothly under the supervision of the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) with a total of 78 candidates contesting from Sindh, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Balochistan and Islamabad.

--> Adsense 300×250
More News