![](/images/articles/articles/139536_01.png) |
However, there are still some brands that intentionally or
unintentionally use haram ingredients in their food products. For this
reason, it is important to know which brands these are and whether they
actually contain haram ingredients in their products so you can make an
informed decision. The following products do not contain any haram
ingredients.
1. Mentos candy
When Mentos gum was listed as haram by SANHA, the halal food
certification agency of Pakistan, many wanted to know whether the Mentos
candy we’ve all been consuming since childhood was also haram. The
reason Mentos gum was declared haram was because it contains two
ingredients, E120 and beef gelatin, that are haram for Muslims. However,
the good news is that the Mentos candy sold in Pakistani supermarkets is
free from haram ingredients.
2. M&Ms
After Skittles, a childhood favorite, was declared to be haram by SANHA,
many people questioned whether M&Ms were also haram due to the
similarities between the two. Skittles were declared haram because they
contained E120, a flavor enhancer that is made from insects.
Fortunately, however, M&Ms do not contain E120 or any other haram
ingredients and are perfectly safe for Muslims to consume.
|
![](/images/articles/articles/139536_02.png) |
3. Lay’s
Recently, a controversy rose around Lay’s and their world-famous potato
chips as many alleged that one of the ingredients used in the chips,
E631, contains pig fat. As pig fat is haram for Muslims, this rumor
spread like fire but, fortunately, there was no truth to it. E631 is, in
actuality, a flavour enhancer that can be obtained from several
different sources, such as pigs, plants, and fish, and the one used in
Lay’s crisps is derived from plants. Pepsico Pakistan, the parent
company of Lay’s in Pakistan, swiftly clarified that all of Lay’s
products are completely halal and this fact was affirmed by
SANHA.
|