Aqil Shah elected KPOA chief for 4th time in a row 

14 February, 2022

 Aqil Shah elected KPOA chief for 4th time in a row 

PESHAWAR - Former Sports Minister Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and Senior Vice President Pakistan Olympic Association Syed Aqil Shah has been re-elected for the fourth consecutive time in a row as the President Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Olympic Association in an election meeting held at PUTA Hall here. 

 He has been the president of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Olympic Association three times before. Pervez Khan and Manzoor Hussain performed the duties of the Election Commission. Out of 71 votes, 68 votes were polled. Syed Aqil Shah got 54 votes and his opponent Khurshid Khan got 14 votes only. Syed Zulfiqar Ali Butt was elected as Secretary General with 48 votes while his opponent Shahid Shinwari got 20 votes. Amjad Khan was elected joint secretary with 47 votes while his opponent Kifayat Ullah Khan got 21 votes. Sarah Nisar was elected Associate Women Secretary with 48 votes against Hajira Sarwar (17 votes). Squash legend Qamar Zaman, Rehmat Gul Afridi, Tariq Pervez, Murtaza Bangash elected as vice presidents while Dr Muhammad Tahir as senior vice president. Arbab Naseer elected as Finance Secretary, Tahseenullah, Umar Ayaz and M Mohsin Kamal unopposed associate secretaries, Akhtar Ali Shah, M Saleem, Rizwanul Haq Razi, Safina Babar and Miss Shahnaz Kamal Babar as executive members. 

Woman, 2 children die of hunger in Somalia as drought worsens