Ramiz Raja elected as 36th PCB chairman

 Ramiz Raja elected as 36th PCB chairman

On Monday, Former Pakistan captain Ramiz Raja has been elected as 36th chairman of the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) today.

The election for the new chairman of PCB was held in Lahore today. The election was supervised by the PCB’s Election Commissioner Justice (retd) Sheikh Azmat Saeed.

Aasim Wajid Jawad, Alia Zafar, Asad Ali Khan, Arif Saeed, Javed Kurieshi, Ramiz Raja and Wasim Khan attended the special meeting to elect the new PCB chairman.

Mr Ramiz Raja is only the fourth former Pakistan international cricketer to head the PCB after Mr Abdul Hafeez Kardar (1972-1977), Mr Javed Burki (1994-1995) and Mr Ijaz Butt (2008-2011).

On the occasion, newly appointed PCB chairman Ramiz Raja said, “I am thankful to all of you for electing me as the PCB Chairman and look forward to working with you to ensure Pakistan cricket continues to thrive and grow stronger, both on and off-the-field.”

Berlin welcomes IAEA-Iran nuclear monitoring deal

“My key focus will be to help introduce in the Pakistan men’s cricket team the same culture, mind-set, attitude and approach that once made Pakistan one of the most feared cricket playing nations,” he added.

It is pertinent to mention here that the PCB’s top post fell vacant after Ehsan Mani stepped down after completing his 3-year term last month.

Messi to miss Wednesday's Ligue 1 game against Metz due to injury

I was already expecting ECB's refusal to tour Pakistan: Ramiz Raja

Shocks after shocks! ECB’s refusal to Pakistan tour receives raspy response at social media

England also call off Pakistan tour after New Zealand

PCB declines NZC's offer to play abandoned series at neutral venue

NCOC allows 25 percent crowds for National T20 Cup matches: sources