Darren Bravo and Kieron Pollard back for West Indies

Darren Bravo and Kieron Pollard back for West Indies | Cricket | ESPNcricinfo West Indies in India 2018-19 October 8, 2018 Darren Bravo and Kieron Pollard back for West Indies ESPNcricinfo staff Share on Facebook Share on Twitter © Getty Images

Batsman Darren Bravo is set to represent West Indies in any format for the first time in two years and allrounder Kieron Pollard for the first time in a year, on the T20 leg of the ongoing India tour.

Chris Gayle, who is tied up with the Afghanistan Premier League at present and will be going to the T10 league after that, made himself unavailable for selection for the India and Bangladesh tours, Cricket West Indies (CWI) said in a release, but he remains available for the England tour next year and the World Cup. Andre Russell was picked for the T20s, but not the ODIs as he 'has been ruled out of all 50-over cricket due to injury'.

Bravo and Pollard's inclusions are the result of talks between the board and a handful of estranged high-profile players, with a view to having the big names feature in the World Cup in England next year. These players had fallen out with the board for various reasons, the primary one being the clash between playing domestic cricket and overseas T20 leagues. The board had said availability for the regional tournaments was a requirement to be picked for the West Indies squads, causing a rift with the players who are highly sought after by the T20 leagues. However, this year, with the World Cup in mind, the board decided to bring forward the domestic 50-over competition to October this year, instead of February 2019 - that switch means there will be minimal clash between the Super50 and various T20 leagues. CWI has said if the players play the Super50 and perform, a World Cup call-up is open to them.

Dwayne Bravo and Lendl Simmons, who'd also committed to playing the Super50 along with Darren Bravo and Pollard, do not feature in these squads. CWI chief executive Colin Grave had said earlier that the stiff competition for the allrounder's spot in the line-up meant Dwayne Bravo would have to work that much harder to break through. Spinner Sunil Narine also remains on the sidelines for now.

The ODI squad features three uncapped players in opener Chandrapaul Hemraj, allrounder Fabian Allen and pacer Oshane Thomas. Allen and Thomas will stay on for the India T20s too, along with other newcomers in left-arm pacer Obed McCoy, left-arm spinner Khary Pierre and the big-hitting Sherfane Rutherford.

Batsman Evin Lewis, who'd turned down a central white-ball contract last week, features in both squads. Fast bowler Alzarri Joseph, who is on the road back from a stress fracture of the back he suffered late last year, has been included for the ODIs pending a fitness test. Joseph was included in the Test squad for India too, before being ruled out after two fitness assessments.

More to follow

ODI squad: Jason Holder (capt), Fabian Allen, Sunil Ambris, Devendra Bishoo, Chanderpaul Hemraj, Shimron Hetmyer, Shai Hope, Alzarri Joseph, Evin Lewis, Ashley Nurse, Keemo Paul, Rovman Powell, Kemar Roach, Marlon Samuels, Oshane Thomas

T20I squad: Carlos Brathwaite (capt), Fabian Allen, Darren Bravo, Shimron Hetmyer, Evin Lewis, Obed McCoy, Ashley Nurse, Keemo Paul, Khary Pierre, Kieron Pollard, Rovman Powell, Denesh Ramdin, Andre Russell, Sherfane Rutherford, Oshane Thomas

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Imran Tahir secured the Super Over for South Africa

Stephen Fleming oversees a fielding drill before play

Imran Tahir exults after dismissing Chamara Kapugedera for a golden duck

Jos Buttler brought up his hundred as the target neared

Allan Donald is now Kent"s assistant coach

Joe Root in action for Yorkshire