Pakistan Super League (PSL#5)


Pakistan Super League (PSL) is a professional T20 cricket franchise league. The Pakistan Super League was founded in Lahore, Pakistan on 9th September 2015 with five teams and later become six teams.

The PSL season runs between the months of February and March, with each team playing matches in double round robin format; the top four teams with the best record qualify for the playoffs and culminate in the championship game, the PSL Cup Final. The league is based in the Pakistan Cricket Board office in Lahore.

2020 Pakistan super league (also known as PSL5 or for sponsorship reasons HBL PSL 2020) was the fifth season of the super league, a franchise Twenty 20 cricket league which was established by the Pakistan Cricket Board [PCB] in 2015. It took place between 20 February2020 and 15 March 2020.The league was held entirely in Pakistan for the first time.

The opening ceremony was held on 20 February 2020 at National Stadium, Karachi, prior to the first match of the season.

The show began with the national anthem, before a group of drummers and trumpeters performed an instrumental version of the official PSL 2020 anthem. Later, the first performance of the night was a Sufi medley featuring singer Sanam Marvi, qawwals Fareed Ayaz and Abu Mohammad, and the band Soch.

This was followed by Sajjad Ali, Aima Baig, Abrar-Ul-Haq and Rahat Fateh Ali Khan taking the stage one after another to perform their songs. The ceremony concluded with Ali Azmat, Arif Lohar, Haroon and Asim Azhar performing the PSL 2020 anthem Tayyar Hain, accompanied by a fireworks display in the background

PSL5 was celebrated on 20th February and the first match of the tournament was played between Quetta Gladiator and Islamabad united at National stadium. There are six teams in PSL5; Karachi kings,Islamabad united , Quetta Gladiators, Multan Sultan, Peshawar Zalmi and Lahore Qalandar. All matches are being played in Pakistan grounds. These grounds are in Karachi, Lahore, Multan and Rawalpindi. PSL represented 425 players from 22 countries. It is the great successfulness of the Pakistan cricket Board (PCB)

Every team has good players and they are performing their best in the tournament. The main purpose of these matches to promote cricket in Pakistan and make good players.

The knockout stage of the tournament was suspended due to the 2019-20 coronavirus pandemic. In late March 2020, the PCB was looking at whether to declare the winner of the tournament based on the league standings, or to play the matches at a later date.

In February 2019, the prime Minister of Pakistan, Imran khan, announced that the fifth season of the tournament will be held entirely in Pakistan In March 2019, Ehsan Mani, Chairman of Pakistan Cricket Board also expressed the desire to host all the matches of this season in Pakistan . On 1 January 2020. PCB announced fixtures for the tournament confirming that the entire tournament will take place in Pakistan.

On 19 February 2020, the trophy for the league was unveiled by squash legend Jahangir Khan alongside PCB chairman Ehsan Mani at National stadium, Karachi. The 65 centimeters long trophy weighing eight kilogrammes has a crescent and star with multi- coloured strip of enamel is to be used in all future PSL events with every years winning team to be engraved on it.

We all love cricket very much and it is liked by every Pakistani.
We hope our Pakistani player’s en lighter (Roshan) the name of Pakistan in the world.

Comments Print Article Print
About the Author: RIZWAN NAZIR

Read More Articles by RIZWAN NAZIR: 5 Articles with 2391 views »
Currently, no details found about the author. If you are the author of this Article, Please update or create your Profile here >>
11 Sep, 2020 Views: 185


آپ کی رائے